CommonLII [Home] [Databases] [CommonLII] [Search] [Feedback] [Help]

Constitution of the People's Republic of Bangladesh

You are here:  CommonLII >> Databases >> Constitution of the People's Republic of Bangladesh >> Bangladesh Constitution Contents >> Part I

[Database Search] [Name Search] [Help]



1. The Republic.
Bangladesh is a unitary, independent, sovereign Republic to be known as the People's Republic of Bangladesh.

2. The territory of the Republic.
The territory of the Republic shall comprise-
  1. The territories which immediately before the proclamation of independence on the 26th day of March, 1971 constituted East Pakistan [and the territories referred to as included territories in the Constitution (Third Amendment) Act, 1974, but excluding the territories referred to as excluded territories in that Act; and]

  2. such other territories as may become included in Bangladesh.
2A. The state religion.
The state religion of the Republic is Islam, but other religions may be practiced in peace and harmony in the Republic.]

3. The state language.
The state language of the Republic is [Bangla]

4. National anthem, flag and emblem.
(1) The national anthem of the Republic is the first ten lines of "Amar Sonar Bangla".

(2) The national flag of the Republic shall consist of a circle, coloured red throughout its area, resting on a green background.

(3) The national emblem of the Republic is the national flower Shapla (nympoea-nouchali) resting on water, having on each side and ear of paddy and being surmounted by three connected leaves of jute with two stars on each side of the leaves.

(4) Subject to the foregoing clauses, provisions relating to the national anthem, flag and emblem shall be made by law.

4A. Portrait.
(1) Portrait of the President shall be preserved and displayed at the offices of the President, Prime Minister and Speaker, and all embassies and missions of Bangladesh abroad.

(2) In addition to clause (1), Portrait, of only the Prime Minister, shall be preserved and displayed at the offices of the President and the Speaker, and in head and branch offices of all government and semi-government offices, autonomous bodies, statutory public authorities, government educational institutions, embassies and missions of Bangladesh abroad.

5. The capital.
(1) The capital of the Republic is [Dhaka].

(2.) The boundaries of the capital shall be determined by law.

6. Citizenship.
(1) The citizenship of Bangladesh shall be determined and regulated by law.

(2) The citizens of Bangladesh shall be known as Bangladeshis.

7. Supremacy of the Constitution.
(1) All powers in the Republic belong to the people, and their exercise on behalf of the people shall be effected only under, and by the authority of, this Constitution.

(2) This Constitution is, as the solemn expression of the will of the people, the supreme law of the Republic, and if any other law is inconsistent with this Constitution and other law shall, to the extent of the inconsistency, be void.

CommonLII: Copyright Policy | Disclaimers | Privacy Policy | Feedback