LIIofIndia Home | Databases | WorldLII | Search | Feedback

Indian Treaty Series

You are here:  LIIofIndia >> Databases >> Indian Treaty Series >> 2004 >> [2004] INTSer 1

Database Search | Name Search | Recent Treaties | Noteup | LawCite | Help

Memorandum of Understanding between the Governments of the TEAM 9 Countries [2004] INTSer 1

Memorandum of Understanding between the Governments of the TEAM –9 Countries


The Governments of Burkina Faso, Chad, Cote d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Senegal and India:

Conscious of the historically close and friendly bilateral relations existing among the member countries;

Recognizing that in an increasingly inter-dependent world, the objectives of peace, social justice and economic prosperity are best achieved by fostering mutual understanding, good relations and meaningful cooperation among countries;

Aware that South-South cooperation is an unique mechanism for promoting accelerated economic growth and development in view of common economic and social problems and similar solutions applicable to developing countries;

Recognizing the crucial role that such South-South cooperation can play in this era of globalization, liberalization and privatization;

Realizing the significant contribution that such cooperation can make not merely to economic growth but also for tackling socially sensitive problems and unemployment;

Appreciating that scientific and technological developments have provided new tools which have been successfully harnessed for development and can be replicated;

Noting that such cooperation is in the spirit of India’s cooperation with West Africa in particular and with the African continent in general;

Having entered into this Memorandum of Understanding:


The Governments of Burkina Faso, Chad, Cote d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Senegal and India agreed to set up a regional cooperation mechanism called Techno-Economic Approach for Africa-India Movement, hereinafter referred to as TEAM-9.


The objectives of TEAM-9 are:

(a) To contribute to mutual trust, understanding and economic advancement of member countries.

(b) To accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region and to provide all individuals the opportunity to live in dignity and to realize their full potential through effective utilization of intellectual and physical resources.

(c) To promote and develop scientific and technological advancement among the peoples of the TEAM-9 countries through creation of a facilitating mechanism in the region for transfer of technology, know-how and knowledge management involving governments, experts and entrepreneurs.

(d) To strengthen cooperation with other developing countries.

(e) To strengthen mutual cooperation in international fora on matters of common interest.

To cooperate with regional and international organizations with similar aims and purposes.


The Governments of TEAM-9 member countries would undertake, inter alia, the following steps:

(a) Identification and implementation of priority projects and cooperation schemes in agriculture, industry, infrastructure, science and technology, training etc., which would benefit the nine member countries through mutual synergy and facilitate interaction at governmental, technical and economic levels.

(b) Setting up a Business Council to facilitate identification, entrepreneurship and implementation of specific projects for cooperation.


The Government of India would provide:

(a) concessional credit facilities for financial assistance for the various projects and schemes identified for implementation under TEAM-9 cooperation.

(b) access to training resources in India and facilitate deputation of Indian scientists, technologists and other experts, as deemed necessary, to the member countries of TEAM-9.

The Governments of Burkina Faso, Chad, Cote d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Senegal would:

(a) Encourage and assist India’s participation in projects in their own countries for mutual benefit.

(b) Provide guarantees to concessional credit provided by India, including through repayment by transfer of natural resources.


A Heads of State/Government Summit would be held regularly. The dates for the Summit would be finalised through mutual agreement.


A Council of Ministers consisting of Foreign Minister or any other Minister, nominated by the governments of the TEAM-9 member countries shall be established with the following functions:

(a) Formulation of the policies of the TEAM-9;

(b) Review of the progress of cooperation under TEAM-9;

(c) Decision on new areas of cooperation;

(d) Expansion of membership;

(e) Establishment of additional mechanism under the TEAM-9 as deemed necessary;

(f) Decision on other matters of general interest to the TEAM-9.

The Council of Ministers shall meet at least once a year. Extraordinary session of the Council may be held by agreement among the member countries.


A Standing Committee, comprising of senior officials, one official nominated by each TEAM-9 government, shall be formed and shall have the following functions:

(a) Overall monitoring and coordination of programme of cooperation;

(b) Approval of projects and programmes;

(c) Determination of inter-sector priorities;

(d) Mobilization of regional and external resources;

(e) Identification of new areas of cooperation based on appropriate studies;

(f) Knowledge management to obtain a highest quality of commerce utilizing the available raw talent.

The Standing Committee shall meet as often as deemed necessary. The Standing Committee shall submit periodic reports to the Council of Ministers and make reference to it as and when necessary for decisions on policy matters.


This MoU may be amended, at any time, by mutual consent of all the member countries of TEAM-9.


This MoU shall come into effect on the date of it’s signature and shall remain in force for a period of five years. Thereafter, it may be extended for subsequent periods of five years at a time, by mutual agreement.

In witness whereof, the following representatives duly authorized by their respective Governments have signed this MoU.

Done at New Delhi on this First day of March in the year 2004.

On behalf of Government of Burkina Faso

On behalf of Government of the Republic of Chad

On behalf of Government of the Republic of Cote d’Ivoire

On behalf of Government of the Republic of Equatorial Guinea

On behalf of Government of the Republic of Ghana

On behalf of Government of the Republic of Guinea-Bissau

On behalf of Government of the Republic of Mali

On behalf of Government of the Republic of Senegal

On behalf of Government of the Republic of India

Bilateral Treaties & Documents
Ministry of External Affairs, New Delhi

LIIofIndia: Copyright Policy | Disclaimers | Privacy Policy | Feedback